Fire Underwriters Survey & the CAFC National Awards 2017 Recipients

Career Fire Chief of the Year
Fire Chief Tim Armstrong
New Westminster Fire & Rescue Service
Media: New West fire chief recognized for dedication
Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year
Fire Chief Alain Nadeau
La Brocquerie Fire Department
Media: Nadeau Humbled By Lofty Recognition

Vancouver, British Columbia, September 29, 2017

The 2017 Fire Chief of the Year awards were announced during the Awards Gala at the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs’ annual conference, Fire-Rescue Canada, held in Vancouver, British Columbia

"Both of our Fire Chiefs of the Year are mandated to protect the lives and property of their citizens. To do so effectively, they must be committed to training, public education, appropriate equipment and a constant drive to find ever-better ways of doing things” CAFC’s President, Fire Chief Ken Block observed. "More than anything else,” he added, "they have equally shown themselves to be true leaders.”

There are 3,500 fire departments in Canada and 108,000 firefighting personnel. Volunteers comprise 91 percent of all departments and 77 percent of total personnel.

For more information on the Award and Award Criteria, please see the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs Website

Fire Underwriters Survey & the CAFC National Awards: Past Recipients

Professional Fire Chief of the Year

Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year


 Fire Chief Tim Armstrong
 New Westminster Fire & Rescue Service

Fire Chief Alain Nadeau
Le Broqueri Fire Department


Fire Chief Stephen Gamble, ECFO
Township of Langley Fire Department

 Fire Chief Cecil Kerr
 Gillam Volunteer Fire Department


Fire Chief Daniel Brazeau
Service incendie MRC d'Autray

Fire Chief Edward Bryan
Atonable South-Monaghan Department of Fire & Emergency


Division Chief Gordon Routley
Montreal Fire Department

Fire Chief Gerald Jones
Petitcodiac Fire Department


Fire Chief Ken Block
Edmonton Fire Rescue Service

Fire Chief Jerrold Lemko
Vegreville Fire Department


Fire Chief Bruce Burrell
Calgary Fire Department

Fire Chief Harry Farrell
New Maryland Fire Department


Directeur Gilles la Madeleine
Sécurité incendie de Beloeil

Fire Chief Charlie Boyte, CFO
Pender Island Fire Rescue


Fire Chief Gord Schreiner
Comox Fire Rescue

Fire Chief Miles Boulter
Chief Instructor of the Prince Edward Island Firefighters School


Fire Chief Les Karpluk
Prince Albert Fire Department

Fire Chief DanThorsteinson,
Selkirk Fire Department


Fire Chief William Stewart
Toronto Fire Services

Fire Chief Bill Higgs
Sechelt Chief Fire Officer


Fire Chief Randy Wolsey
Director of Community Protection for the Mohawk of Kahnawake Territory

Terry Diabo
Founding President the Aboriginal Fire Fighters Association of Canada


Fire Chief Serge Tremblay
Montreal Fire Department

Fire Chief Glen Sanders
Shawnigan Lake Volunteer Fire Department


Fire Chief Donald Warden
Wasaga Beach Fire Department

Fire Chief David Guilbault
Kawartha Lakes Fire Rescue Service


Fire Chief Terry Allen
Cambridge Fire Department

Deputy Fire Chief Dennis Levy
Marsh Lake Yukon Territories


Deputy Fire Chief John de Hooge
Oakville Fire Department



Fire Chief Wayne Morris
Calgary Fire Department

Fire Chief Robert Prima
Grenfell Fire Department