Fire Underwriters Survey & the CAFC National Awards 2019 Recipients

06 November 2019

The 2019 Fire Chief of the Year awards were presented by Fire Underwriters Survey during the Awards Gala at the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs’ annual conference, Fire-Rescue Canada. These awards are a wonderful opportunity to recognize excellence in leadership in the fire sector and

Career Fire Chief of the Year
Cameron Abrie
Dauphin Fire Department

Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year
Fire Chief Judy Unsworth
Wheatland County

"Both of our Fire Chiefs of the Year are mandated to protect the lives and property of their citizens. To do so effectively, they must be committed to training, public education, appropriate equipment and a constant drive to find ever-better ways of doing things,” CAFC’s President, Fire Chief Ken Block observed. "More than anything else,” he added, "they have equally shown themselves to be true leaders.”

There are 3,500 fire departments in Canada and 108,000 firefighting personnel. Volunteers comprise 91 percent of all departments and 77 percent of total personnel.  

For more information on the Award and Award Criteria, please see the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs Website

Fire Underwriters Survey & the CAFC National Awards: Past Recipients


Professional Fire Chief of the Year

Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year


Fire Chief Pierre Voisine 
of Cornwall Fire Department

Fire Chief Dale Ashbee Neebing 
Emergency Services


Fire Chief Tim Armstrong 
New Westminster Fire & Rescue Service

Fire Chief Alain Nadeau 
Le Broqueri Fire Department


Fire Chief Stephen Gamble, ECFO 
Township of Langley Fire Department

Fire Chief Cecil Kerr 
Gillam Volunteer Fire Department


Fire Chief Daniel Brazeau 
Service incendie MRC d'Autray

Fire Chief Edward Bryan 
Atonable South-Monaghan Department of Fire & Emergency


Division Chief Gordon Routley 
Montreal Fire Department

Fire Chief Gerald Jones 
Petitcodiac Fire Department


Fire Chief Ken Block 
Edmonton Fire Rescue Service

Fire Chief Jerrold Lemko 
Vegreville Fire Department


Fire Chief Bruce Burrell 
Calgary Fire Department

Fire Chief Harry Farrell 
New Maryland Fire Department


Directeur Gilles la Madeleine 
Sécurité incendie de Beloeil

Fire Chief Charlie Boyte, CFO 
Pender Island Fire Rescue


Fire Chief Gord Schreiner 
Comox Fire Rescue

Fire Chief Miles Boulter 
Chief Instructor of the Prince Edward Island Firefighters School


Fire Chief Les Karpluk 
Prince Albert Fire Department

Fire Chief DanThorsteinson
Selkirk Fire Department


Fire Chief William Stewart 
Toronto Fire Services

Fire Chief Bill Higgs 
Sechelt Chief Fire Officer


Fire Chief Randy Wolsey 
Director of Community Protection for the Mohawk of Kahnawake Territory

Terry Diabo 
Founding President the Aboriginal Fire Fighters Association of Canada


Fire Chief Serge Tremblay 
Montreal Fire Department

Fire Chief Glen Sanders 
Shawnigan Lake Volunteer Fire Department


Fire Chief Donald Warden 
Wasaga Beach Fire Department

Fire Chief David Guilbault 
Kawartha Lakes Fire Rescue Service


Fire Chief Terry Allen 
Cambridge Fire Department

Deputy Fire Chief Dennis Levy 
Marsh Lake Yukon Territories


Deputy Fire Chief John de Hooge 
Oakville Fire Department



Fire Chief Wayne Morris 
Calgary Fire Department

Fire Chief Robert Prima 
Grenfell Fire Department