Fire Underwriters Survey Recognizes Top Fire Chiefs, 2021

28 September 2021

The 2021 Canadian Fire Chief of the Year awards were presented by Fire Underwriters Survey during the Awards Gala at the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs’ annual conference, Fire-Rescue Canada. These awards are an excellent opportunity to recognize excellence in leadership in the fire sector.

Career Fire Chief of the Year
Bill Boyes
Brampton Fire and Emergency Services

Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year
Arnold Lazare
Kahnawà:ke Fire Brigade

“Presenting the awards for Canada’s Fire Chief of the Year is a tremendous privilege,” said Michael Currie, Vice President, Fire Underwriter’s Survey. “This year’s winners are outstanding examples of great Canadian Emergency Service leaders; they are examples of those who are willing to go above and beyond to improve life safety and fire protection in their communities and for all Canadians.”

“We are so proud of Canada’s Fire Chiefs—our members,” stated John McKearney, CAFC President. “The truth is,” he added, “you likely can’t be a fire chief at all unless you can meet a certain standard of professional and personal excellence. In these awards, we look for those who go well above and beyond. It is about selecting excellence from excellence.”

Fire Underwriters Survey & the CAFC National Awards: Past Recipients

Professional Fire Chief of the Year

Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year


Fire Chief Ken McMullen
of Red Deer Emergency Services

Fire Chief Randy Schroeder
of Mayerthorpe Fire Department


Fire Chief Cameron Abrey
of Dauphin Fire Department

Fire Chief Judy Unsworth
of Wheatland County Fire Services


Fire Chief Pierre Voisine
of Cornwall Fire Department

Fire Chief Dale Ashbee Neebing
Emergency Services


Fire Chief Tim Armstrong
New Westminster Fire & Rescue Service

Fire Chief Alain Nadeau
Le Broqueri Fire Department


Fire Chief Stephen Gamble, ECFO
Township of Langley Fire Department

Fire Chief Cecil Kerr
Gillam Volunteer Fire Department


Fire Chief Daniel Brazeau
Service incendie MRC d'Autray

Fire Chief Edward Bryan
Atonable South-Monaghan Department of Fire & Emergency


Division Chief Gordon Routley
Montreal Fire Department

Fire Chief Gerald Jones
Petitcodiac Fire Department


Fire Chief Ken Block
Edmonton Fire Rescue Service

Fire Chief Jerrold Lemko
Vegreville Fire Department


Fire Chief Bruce Burrell
Calgary Fire Department

Fire Chief Harry Farrell
New Maryland Fire Department


Directeur Gilles la Madeleine
Sécurité incendie de Beloeil

Fire Chief Charlie Boyte, CFO
Pender Island Fire Rescue


Fire Chief Gord Schreiner
Comox Fire Rescue

Fire Chief Miles Boulter
Chief Instructor of the Prince Edward Island Firefighters School


Fire Chief Les Karpluk
Prince Albert Fire Department

Fire Chief DanThorsteinson,
Selkirk Fire Department


Fire Chief William Stewart
Toronto Fire Services

Fire Chief Bill Higgs
Sechelt Chief Fire Officer


Fire Chief Randy Wolsey
Director of Community Protection for the Mohawk of Kahnawake Territory

Terry Diabo
Founding President the Aboriginal Fire Fighters Association of Canada


Fire Chief Serge Tremblay
Montreal Fire Department

Fire Chief Glen Sanders
Shawnigan Lake Volunteer Fire Department


Fire Chief Donald Warden
Wasaga Beach Fire Department

Fire Chief David Guilbault
Kawartha Lakes Fire Rescue Service


Fire Chief Terry Allen
Cambridge Fire Department

Deputy Fire Chief Dennis Levy
Marsh Lake Yukon Territories


Deputy Fire Chief John de Hooge
Oakville Fire Department


Fire Chief Wayne Morris
Calgary Fire Department

Fire Chief Robert Prima
Grenfell Fire Department